Pirates celebrate 2017-18 season at 10th annual awards banquet

Pirates celebrate 2017-18 season at 10th annual awards banquet

The 2017-18 athletics season at Porterville College officially came to a close last week and on Monday, the Pirates honored their best and brightest at the 10th annual Academic and Athletic Achievement Awards banquet at the PC Student Center.

Highlights from the event include nine Pirate student-athletes being named to the President's Honors List while 10 more earned Dean's List honors.

A complete list of award winners is below:

President's Honors List
Carlos Angel – Men's Basketball
Illiana Castillo – Softball
Ashley Eyraud – Softball
Shantae Gutierrez – Softball
Julianne Huerta – Softball
Brandon Lozano – Baseball
Malik McCowan – Men's Basketball
Ashlyn Miller – Women's Volleyball
Priscilla Tanguma – Softball

Dean's List
Emily Baeza – Women's Volleyball
Ashley Campos – Women's Basketball
Jackson Cascio – Men's Basketball
Leonardo Gomez – Baseball
Jhared Gonzalez – Baseball
Alexis Lafarga – Softball
Eric Loredo – Baseball
Emma Poll – Softball
Chelsea Ramos – Softball
Kathy Rodriguez – Women's Basketball

Freshmen of the Year
Chelsea Ramos – Softball
Elijah Cardenas – Men's Basketball
Andres Garza – Baseball

Sophomores of the Year
Ashlynn Miller – Women's Volleyball
Brandon Lozano – Baseball

Pirates of the Year
Shantae Gutierrez – Softball
Tevin Howell – Men's Basketball

Tyler Curry Sportsmanship Award
BrookLynne Beavers – Women's Volleyball
Jackson Cascio – Men's Basketball

Tiffanee Anderson Most Inspirational
Angel Geston – Softball
Alfredo Vasquez – Baseball

Kathie Gifford Special Recognition
Jodie Logan

Above and Beyond Award
Tim Simmons

Team of the Year
Women's Basketball

Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Julianne Huerta – Softball
Carlos Angel – Men's Basketball

Porterville College Athletics would like to thank …
Bill Henry, President
Sam Aunai, VP of Instruction
Jay Hargis, Dean of Instruction
Kalani Knutson, Dean of Instruction
Anja Goebel, Athletic Trainer
Jodie Logan, Administrative Assistant
Jessica Shadrick, Athletic Academic Counselor
Janice Halopoff, Eligibility Clerk
Alex Schultz, Communications Manager
Chris Ruiz, Web Content Specialist
Greg & Kari Curry and the Curry Family
Stacy & Melodee Anderson and the Anderson Family
Our game management crew – Hanah Gonzalez, Samantha Dale & Marissa Cascio
Dolores Meurer, Graphics Technician
John Word and the M & O Staff
Chef Oli Alvarez & the Treasure Café staff
And our Coaches for your hard work and endless commitment to our Student-Athletes.